Chile: Wine, Food, etc!

gold1959

We will (G-d willing) be in Chile for a wine-trail/foodie trip in December. Hubs is a chef- I'm his "foodie". LOL :rolleyes: This is a sponsored trip and we'll be blogging/filming much of it for the sponsor. (We're cruisers, too, which is why I'm on CruiseCritic...) As we've never been to Chile, I am in the process of researching, and any suggestions as to wine, food, what & where to eat, drink, buy, see, do, tour recommendations, contacts, etc. will be DEEPLY appreciated!

We LOVE things like: cooking classes, wine tastings, local gourmet cuisine, but also great and interesting local "street food", & special, unique edible stuff a la Andrew Zimmern :D, staying at wineries and farms, ATVing, JetSkis, ziplining, horseback riding, music, dancing, art & local craft, etc. (I'm an illustrator and USCG Artist & will be bringing my watercolors and hoping for some time to paint...) We're not big into hiking- we prefer motorized vehicles & adrenaline rushes... ;) LOL)

Thanks!

I have not spent a lot of time in Chile. Been there on visits/cruise stops occasionally over the past 10 years. I did live in Vina del Mar for a couple of months back in 2001. Appropos of your inquiry about food, I recall a day trip into Santiago at that time and having a cafe table conversation with a married couple who turned out to be US diplomats stationed at the embassy in Santiago. She was Attache for Cultural Affairs. He was not so "culturally" designated. When the conversation turned to food, I inquired of their impressions of the cuisine of Chile. I never forgot his reply. "Chile has fabulous soil to grow grass ideal for cattle and sheep ranches, wonderful veggies and fruits not the least of which are grapes for wine, and a 4000 mile coast line to make easily available all kinds of fresh seafood. What the Chileans lack is a palate to combine the ingredients tastefully."