Some one familar with Honolulu Airport!

zookepr0

When we are transferring to the inter-island terminal we usually allow an hour and a half. You will be fine. You may even have time to enjoy a tropical beverage and the island breezes before getting on the next plane. The Honolulu airport is very easy (lots of walking) and I enjoy the open walkways after being on a long flight. Have fun, Cherie

Our flight from Detroit will land at 3:09 pm can we easily catch another flight Hawaiian Air departure 5:32 pm. How long should it take to get around the airport. Thanks for the help.

I worked as a flight attendant in the islands for 5 years and am quite familiar with the Honolulu airport. If you are flying with any of the island airlines (go!, Island Air, or Mokulele), you will be able to retrieve your baggage from your Mainland flight and catch a airport shuttle to the commuter terminal. The commuter terminal is quite small with a very small TSA check-in. The time of day you are traveling is busy if during the week (due to 'end of the day' tour groups returning to other islands or locals returning home from daily commute).

Your connecting time is still doable though. Allow at least an hour for the 5 minute shuttle ride, ticket counter check-in and TSA. This allows for plenty of stress-free time if there are lines at the ticket counter or at TSA. The gates for departure will be a 1 minute walk (or less :-) from TSA.

*** Past TSA in commuter terminal, a small bar and a snack kiosk only for food and beverages ***

Enjoy the islands --- they're the best!

DUH --- I reread your post and realize you are on Hawaiian Air so you will remain in the main terminal and not have to go through any TSA lines! Hopefully, you are checking your bags all the way through to your final destination ;-).