lens rec for canon rebel xti

HarperSays

Hello,

I am a total amateur so I hope this makes sense, but I love photography and taking photos. I have a canon rebel xti with the lens it came with (18-55mm, though I have no idea what those numbers mean). We are taking an Alaska cruise in May and I would love a new lens to take on the cruise, preferably a good zoom lens. What would you recommend? Thanks for any help you can give.

I would recommend the Canon 55-250 mm F/4-5.6 IS. It is $255 at Amazon. It is affordable , light and small. Make sure it's IS (image stabilized). It cost more but will keep your camera from shaking and blurring the image when zoomed to maximum. Here is a picture at 73 mm.

IMG_1114.jpg

And the next photo zoomed to 200mm.

IMG_1113.jpg

Hello,

I am a total amateur so I hope this makes sense, but I love photography and taking photos. I have a canon rebel xti with the lens it came with (18-55mm, though I have no idea what those numbers mean). We are taking an Alaska cruise in May and I would love a new lens to take on the cruise, preferably a good zoom lens. What would you recommend? Thanks for any help you can give.

The good news is you have lots of time to practice with a new lens.

The 18 - 55 mm is the focal length of the lens - that describes the field of view. For your camera, the range is from a slight wide angle to a little bit of telephoto [good for casual portraits]. This is considered a 'normal zoom' lens.

For online resources, this forum is a good place to start. Also, take a look in the Alaska forum [under ports of call].

Outside of the CC forums, I would recommend the forums over on http://www.dpreview.com - forums there for 'landscape and travel', 'beginner questions' and Canon cameras.

You may also find a short photo course useful [like the two day 'Nikon School' ] Check with your local library, community college or school district [and if you have a real camera store available, ask the folks there for recommendations ]