'Which' Digital Camera.

Burney555

I am currently looking into purchasing a new digital camera.

but

Which one is recommended.

I am travelling on the NCL Spirit in November and am looking for a good all round camera.

At the minute I have a Nikon Coolpix which produces good pictures but the time is now for upgrading.

I have heard a lot of people recommending the Nikon D70 but as I have no great knowledge about photography (At the minute it's point and shoot) I am a little concerned about this purchase.

Please help.......:)

The D70 gets good reviews and as far as I'm concerned you can't go wrong with a Nikon. This is an SLR, or actually a DSLR so although it does have some auto modes it will be quite different from your coolpix point and shoot camera. If you are set on getting a DSLR, I would recommend getting it soon so that you can "play" with it well before your trip. Another option is to upgrade your coolpix (you don't say which one you have) to one of the newer ones like the 7900. I just got one last month and love it. 7.1 mp and many scene modes and very compact. The only downside, if you have an older coolpix model, is that the new ones use SD cards where as the older ones use the compact flash cards

I personally have the Canon PowerShort A85. This is a year or two old, so there is newer models but I love my little camera. I mostly keep the settings on Auto, but have played with it enough that I do use some of the outdoor settings as well. It has a traditional view finder or you can use the screen - however this eats batteries up faster. Batteries - this is important to me, as I like the cameras that use traditional AA batteries - no need to lug a battery charger with you. Oh....it's 4.0 megapixels as well.

Thank you for you comments

I have now made a shortlist of cameras which I am interested in they are as follows:

1. Nikon D50 + AF-S DX 18 - 55mm ED & AF-S DX 55 - 200mm ED

2. Nikon Coolpix 7900

3. Nikon Coolpix P1

4. Cannon Powershot S2 IS