Double Cruise, Land Tour, Cross Country Train Trip

Floridapenny

In May, I will be embarking on a bucket list trip to Alaska. From Florida, I will be taking Amtrak trains to Vancouver, then the Star Princess to Whittier. I then plan to take the Alaska Railroad to Fairbanks and pick up a Princess (on your own) tour. After stops in Denali, I will be taking the Island Princess back to Vancouver. From there, pretty much the same Amtrak route back to Florida.

My last cruise was in 1973, a Carribean cruise on the Nordic Prince. I suffered a bit of seasickness during that trip. I am not sure if I should be concerned now.

I am also concerned about trying to do too much. I am a seasoned train traveler and have traveled across the US many times. However, I am a novice cruiser and may need advice.

I travel very light since I take my roller bag on the train with me. I hope black slacks and black tops are sufficient in the dining rooms on the ships because I will not have a lot of room to pack.

I practice yoga regularly and was disappointed to read that Princess charges for yoga. I am curious whether the yoga classes are worth $15 a class.

I was also disappointed to read that Princess charges for bottled water. I hope I read that wrong.

Thank you for any advice or comments for someone who is a bit overwhelmed. :eek:

I hope you are planning to arrive a day or two ahead of time on your Amtrak trip. I'd hate to have you miss your cruise because Amtrak was late (again!).

Black slacks and black tops will be fine in the dining room. I'm assuming that you can dress them up for the Gala nights.

Yes, Princess charges for bottled water, but the ship's water is as good or purer than the bottled water.

I can't comment on the yoga.

I hope you are planning to arrive a day or two ahead of time on your Amtrak trip. I'd hate to have you miss your cruise because Amtrak was late (again!).