Transferring Reservation to TA

kkoenig89

This is my first time thinking about transferring my existing reservation (booked directly with NCL online) to a travel agent company who is offering a substantial amount OBC. If I do transfer the reservation, will I still be able to book my own dining and entertainment when they are available through MyNCL? Also, how would booking shore excursions work since that is one of my perks? Would I be able to call NCL directly to have them pre-book without upfront payment like usual or would the TA have to do that? And, if offered, would I be able to bid on an upgrade? I'm a pretty big DIYer when it comes to travel, and am nervous about giving up that much control to someone else.

Edited by kkoenig89

You will be able to book your own dining and entertainment.

You book your shore excursions and once the excursion is over, you will receive an $50 credit on your on board account.

The bidding depends if your TA subscribes to the bidding process -- I can tell you that Costco does not.

You didn't give any control up.

14 minutes ago, kkoenig89 said:

Thank you, esm54687 and xcell, for your insights. It sounds like there really isn't a reason not to transfer my reservation to the TA then.

You did manage you are a big DIYer..... my only concern would be if you are micromanaging the reservation and you see the price go down on a Friday night..... you may have to wait until Monday to coordinate with your TA to get the new price.  But that may be minor if the OBC is substantial enough.

Also, make sure that you're OK with an earlier final payment / harsher cancellation penalty that the TA may have. 

Happy Cruising 

4 hours ago, esm54687 said: