Review of MSC Bellissima Marseille to Marseille January 1 to January 8 2023

bwlewer

Just back from my latest trip with MSC, and it summary: Amazing, but different!

I'm still relatively new to cruising, most of my family vacations have been Disney centric, but over the last 6 years we've taken 6 MSC cruises including Caribbean, Mediterranean, South American and even Middle East.  We did cruise on one Holland America this year that had an itinerary that interested us, but we were eager to get back on to an MSC ship.

Also note that this was after SEVERAL rebookings, all covid timing related (or testing positive just before).  This was originally a March 2022 on Grandiosa, then was Virtuosa, and finally Bellissima.  The rebookings created some OBC that worked out well.  This was also the second time on Bellissima, the last out out of Dubai.  

And final note, we have always sailed in Yacht Club, including this time, and therefore all of my commentary is based on living in the "ship within a ship".  It's quite possible that others may have had different experiences.  

Some overall thoughts and observations:

- Within the YC, service was excellent, especially in Top Sail, Deck 19, and the YC Restaurant.  Concierge consistently resolved any problems quickly and to my satisfaction.  The room attendant did a fantastic job and seemed to always be their when we needed him.  The butler however was RARELY around.  In fact, I didn't personally meet him.  Several; other butlers walked us on/off the ship or to other venue, and never our own.  Oh well.  What was different from past sailings was now there are Top Sail only servers who are not official butlers.  Each one of them were amazing.  They knew us individually and what we liked to order.