Disturbances Discussions May-Jun-Jul-Aug 2023

PelicanBill

Starting off the 2023 season's discussion threads. My plan is to have 2 threads as you see on the title... will restart for the second half of the season (which is busier and will be Sep-Oct-Nov.)

First, some news!  We already had our first Atlantic tropical system back in JANUARY.

https://www.nhc.noaa.gov/archive/text/PNSNHC/2023/PNSNHC.202305111500.txt 

Retroactive subtropical storm! It will not be given the first name, so the next storm to make TS strength will be Arlene.

Reminders

When a disturbance gets a name, I will open a dedicated thread if it has enough of a threat to land and cruises.  If it just swirls in the Atlantic I may not.

I watch storms in the Pacific and will note those that threaten land and cruises along the west coasts and Hawaii, but many form and go nowhere and may not get mentioned and watched.

IMPORTANT

I am not a meteorologist. I am an amateur enthusiast and semi-expert.  This is what I try to do:

* Interpret media coverage which is almost always sensationalist

* Interpret official NHC and other data to help understanding

* Interpret possible effects on cruises - careful predictions of POSSIBLE impacts and likely cruise line reactions. Many of us can cite official behaviors like port closing rules. We also remind people of risks of changes and cancellations of itineraries.

* Side discussions on land impacts and storm safety are welcome

Your opinions are always welcome!  Be civil. Don't attack other posts or mine, but you can always say "I disagree" and state why.

And for goodness sake, people, BUY TRIP INSURANCE

• Like 3
  • Thanks 2

• 3 weeks later...
9 hours ago, PelicanBill said:

Well some forecasters predicted our first named storm by 11pm eastern yesterday… but nope. And not looking likely. We have a depression not looking likely to develop.