Buying digital camera on board....

emilygrace

We were on a cruise a while back and I remember seeing a guy in the elevator with a new digital camera still in the box. There had been a sale advertised in the Compass and I asked him if he bought it at the sale. He said he had. He also said he had researched digital cameras before the cruise and was happy with what he paid for this one.

I have been pricing digitals for a few months and so far my best prices are coming from websites of photo stores based in New York City. I am going to be in St. Thomas in about 6 weeks and planned to look there, but I wasn't counting on them being able to beat the prices I have found online. I have held off on purchasing, just in case.

But back to the guy that bought his at the camera sale on board.....has anyone here ever done that?

Emily, I don't think I would buy one onboard, just in case something went wrong. You might get a good deal on the camera, however you will most likely need more than one memory card on a 12-day cruise :) And you are stopping in fantastic ports (we were originally scheduled on the same cruise), do you really want to spend time onboard learning how to use your new camera? You might miss some fantastic photo opps!! Do you have Best Buy's in CA? We have found great prices there.

Good luck and have fun shopping :D

###

Yes, we do have Best Buy here, but the NY stores have them beat by at least $50. Plus sales tax here on something that pricey really adds to the total. If I bought it online I wouldn't have to pay that tax. For what I'm saving on the price and sales tax I can get a 1GB memory card and a spare battery!

Don't worry, I'm taking my beloved little film camera on this cruise. It has stood by me through many trips and has been dropped too many times to mention. I just had a roll of film developed last week and it's still going strong!