Opinions on Vista class & is there any difference in ships?

big al

Hi guys & gals-I am considering trying the HAL vista class ships but I have some concerns,so if you can give some advice or opinions,please do:

1)I have heard about vibration problems.I am a light & difficult sleeper.We are looking at an SS category cabin.Any thoughts on whether or not this is true?

2) I am a part-time cruise agent and have cruised Carnival,Celebrity,RCL,NCL and Princess,with the latter being my favorite.Almost everbody tells me that the average age on HAL is death,and that the nightly entertainment is dead and the ship is finished by 11PM..we are not late night people,but we do like shows and nightly entertainment.My wife & I are 52 & 50.Celebrity's entertainment was also terrible,but at least they had good food and service.

3)Anybody sail the new Westerdam and compare it to the 2 others?Vibration problems? Thanks!

Big Al

Hey Big Al,

If there is truly a vibration problem, it'll save you a roll of quarters for the bed with that crazy motor... You know the one in that "No Tell Motel".

As for us "old guys", stop by my web site... We both dive & get a bit crazy... We're the old guys at 51 & 55...

I haven't sailed a Vista in two years. At that time, the Zuiderdam had some issues ... but I only felt it in the lower dining room. Your SS cabin will be high enough that it won't be a problem.

So far as HAL being old, that's an exaggerated stereotype. Yes, their demographic is somewhat older than, say, Carnival. But frankly the Panama Canal cruise I sailed on the Coral Princess was the "oldest" pax group I've ever seen. I'm sure you will find a reasonable mix of ages.

HAL offers production shows as well as individual performers (pianists, magicians, comedians, etc.) Some will blow you away, others will leave you cold ... just as would be the case in any land-based venue. The bars will roll on into the wee hours as long as folks are there. They won't roll up the sidewalks at dark!