Runners - ice in the gym or nearby? Instant cold pack?

masonpips

I have been fighting plantar fascitis for about 2 months and am FINALLY seeing improvement and getting in some runs again without pain, during the run or after, provided I ice my foot.

I have a 15K on Oct 25 so I really want to run on the ship (10/12 sailing). I've found icing my foot immediately after a run keeps the inflammation down so I was hoping for some ideas/suggestions on getting ice.

I've thought about walking to one of the pools bars and asking for a glass of it (and bringing my own ziploc) and/or heading back to the room. I've also considered buying a few "instant" cold packs to use (will probably run 3 or 4 times while onboard). Has anyone used these and are they pretty good?

Thanks for any feedback on getting ice or the cold packs.

Side note: any advice on *not* running, giving up running, etc. isn't needed. I've been working through this, with a medical professional, slowly and over time to ensure I don't hurt myself further. Thanks tho

Plan to do your "running" very early in the am...the jogging track wraps around the pool, and from about 10am on, the track will be clogged with lounge chairs, as there's not enough room for them unless they are spread out onto the track!

And, there is PLENTY of ice onboard!

I used to work for a ballet company. We used a lot of those "instant ice" packs, and they worked pretty well - especially in a pinch. I keep them here at home but have fortunately not needed them.

I'd carry a few of those, but would probably do the zip lock thing as well. If I recall correctly, the ice packs never got as cold as a big old hunk of ice.

What kind of shoe you wearing? I run nearly every morning on a cruise and sometimes run the dock. I bet a ice pack that you use and the room steward will keep ice for you if you ask.

Notree will be doing th White Rock 1/2 in November and the White Rock maraton 1/2 in December.

Voyager on 1/11/09 Good running!