Internet Access on Board

dleighb

I know there is wireless access in certain hot spots. Is there Internet access from the cabins on the Zuiderdam?

Also, when it is said to be slow. How slow is slow? My husband participates in a photo a day website. He hasn't missed a day in two years and is hoping that he won't have to miss one on the cruise when he has great subject matter. He will be using his own laptop rather than the cruise computers. Will that make things better or worse?

I brought my laptop and i am a photographer. I did a daily blog from my cabin. But I did it in a word program before going online to post. I found the service extremely slow and if he wants to post a picture he should know exactly which one he wants and make sure it is a small web size file so it will download quickly. I had all the sites I was going to go to in my favorites list before leaving home. That way I could access them quickly. I also had two browsers opened when I posted on seperate sites....so that each browser could be working. It was slow going and it took me 12 minutes each time just to post on two sites and check email quickly. I got the $100 worth (250 minutes) and used them all in two weeks.

I know there is wireless access in certain hot spots. Is there Internet access from the cabins on the Zuiderdam?
There is a wireless signal detectable all over the ship, but the speed that you get in your cabin will depend on how far you are from one of the hallway antennas. (Look for the truncated white cones, about 4" high, hanging from the ceilings, spaced about 15 cabins apart.) You can often get a better signal in your cabin by propping the hall door open about an inch and sitting in a chair just behind it! :) The cabin will also have a dial-up modem port, and the speed available there will not be much different from the wireless. Bring your own wire.