Telephoto used to photograph whales?

mountainhouse

I'm not really much of a wildlife photographer, but I do want to photograph whales. I'm torn. I have a 70-200 f/4 Canon. However, if I need to, I could rent a 70-300mm reasonably. The 70-200 is so sharp - I really like it. But worry that it's not enough.

The problem with the 300 mm lens, is the narrower field of view. You will have to be RIGHT on the whale for a photo, which is not easy. Have you whale watched prior?? Tracking and predicting is a skill. :) You will not have any time, for much of a zoom action. You might want to see how the lens works for you prior. IF you are slower than with your own lens, it may not be the best option. Overall, you can expect- ONE great photo out of a "hundred". With digital, it's a fantastic option, take all you can get and delete the missed shots.

Thanks for the ideas. Really appreciate it. Unfortunately, I'm new to whale watching. Will do my best. At least memory is cheap, so I recently doubled my capacity. :D Sounds like it might be better to go with the sharper lens and crop when I get home. Thanks again.

I'm not really much of a wildlife photographer, but I do want to photograph whales. I'm torn. I have a 70-200 f/4 Canon. However, if I need to, I could rent a 70-300mm reasonably. The 70-200 is so sharp - I really like it. But worry that it's not enough.

I assume your camera has a motor drive or capability of taking a bunch of shots by just pressing the button. Rely on depth of field and fire away!

I assume your camera has a motor drive or capability of taking a bunch of shots by just pressing the button. Rely on depth of field and fire away!

I'm shooting with a Canon 30d, so was figuring to shoot at high speed, with the autofocus set to continuous. Thanks.

You might also consider the Canon 1.4x teleconverter, which will give you added "reach" at relatively low cost.