What is a Wine tasting?

noise

I'm new with Hal, could anyone of you explain in simple words what is exactly a Wine tasting? I've already asked the ship service, they sent me the prices, but I didn't understand what is intended by Standard wine tasting, is the price referred to a single day, a single bottle or anything else? and is it intended for a single person or it doesn't matter how many you are? Thanks a lot

I hope someone who has actually done a wine tasting can give a better description, but as I understand: This is not with a meal, you will sample different wines as a group and talk about the differences. You can sign up for this as an individual, but you will be part of a group when sampling the wines. I see that it is mentioned that the ship's sommelier is there for the Premium tasting, but I would expect him/her to be there for the Standard tasting too. I could be wrong in that, but someone will be leading the tasting. The Standard wines will be less expensive than the Premium wines. When this is scheduled it will be listed in the Daily Schedule (delivered each night for the next day).

The Standard Wine tasting is $15 per person and usually held either in the dining room or the Explorer's Lounge. At one time it was $10 per person and you sampled 6 wines - just an ounce. The last one we did was a couple of years ago -- 4 samples -- and barely an ounce to taste.

The Premium Wine tasting is done in the Pinnacle -- better quality of wines. Tried it -- was great years ago. And then it changed as well. I can't say how many wines they taste -- it used to be 5. That price is $35 per person.

Also years ago, if you attended, you got 10% off of a bottle of wine.

The cellar master has been in charge of these the last couple of years.