Bathroom Attendants

HappyTvlr

A bit of a random topic, but I just read a cruise review and it was mentioned. On a Dec 2012 cruise through the Panama Canal my husband always came back from the restroom just off the MDR laughing because the attendant was a funny guy. The ladies room had no attendant. Well, on our Oct 2013 South Pacific cruise there were attendants in both ladies and men's rooms. At first I thought it was nice to have the room kept tidy at all times, but after a couple of days it was annoying. She was lovely and doing a great job, but it was just too personal and she even got to the point of greeting or parting with some passengers with a hug. I've been cruising with Celebrity for a few years now, and I never had a problem with the restrooms not being tidy even without the attendants. It is a personal opinion, but with all the cutbacks that are being mentioned I hope the attendants are retained but trained for other more useful jobs.

Edited by HappyTvlr

A bit of a random topic, but I just read a cruise review and it was mentioned. On a Dec 2012 cruise through the Panama Canal my husband always came back from the restroom just off the MDR laughing because the attendant was a funny guy. The ladies room had no attendant. Well, on our Oct 2013 South Pacific cruise there were attendants in both ladies and men's rooms. At first I thought it was nice to have the room kept tidy at all times, but after a couple of days it was annoying. She was lovely and doing a great job, but it was just too personal and she even got to the point of greeting or parting with some passengers with a hug. I've been cruising with Celebrity for a few years now, and I never had a problem with the restrooms not being tidy even without the attendants. It is a personal opinion, but with all the cutbacks that are being mentioned I hope the attendants are retained but trained for other more useful jobs.