The Truth About Norovirus and Cruise Ships

chrismakris

Saw this on the news tonight. Makes me feel that the cruise ships are probably one of the safest places for avoiding noro, as they have an awareness and are taking extreme measure to keep it at bay.

I always find it comical, the comments I read on CNN when a cruise ship gets hit with Norovirus and how these people will never go on a cruise because of this.

How can these people think that the virus started on board?

It starts with people getting on board already sick.

I was surprised when I took our first Celebrity cruise that we were asked if we had been sick in the past few days during the check in process. Caught me off guard but at least their trying to do something top stop the spread.

Of course who is going to admit to it and risk not being let on the ship?

I am a surgical nurse who has been on 17 cruises and have NOT been sick.. Know why? I wash my hands before and after I eat. I also make use of the many hand sanitizers that are available on the ships. If people would use some common sense and not be pigs, there wouldn't be half of the sickness that are shown on national news!

Generally, something is only headline worthy when it impacts a large number of people, while the news ignores the actual higher impact numbers when it impacts people at an individual level (in most cases!)

Norovirus - Cruise Ships vs. Restaurants

Transportation - Airplane Crashes vs. Auto Accidents

Shootings - Mass Shootings vs. Individual Handgun Deaths

Impact to a large number of people is always more exciting for the news media and politicians! sad but it's what gets everyones attention...

Glad to see someone is at least putting a couple stories out that don't focus on the Cruise Industry being the problem!

Edited by johnb0529