Misleading information

Babr

We have sailed only once on Celebrity, and it was a good experience. We'd like to return,but I've had some unsettling experiences with booking and pricing.

A year or so ago I saw an attractively priced suite guarantee after final payment. A Celebrity Suite was pictured. When I called to reserve, I was told that the guarantee was actually for an entry level suite cabin not a Celebrity Suite. So the price quoted was not for the cabin pictured. Furthermore, I was told that I could wait until a cabin was assigned, and if I didn't like it I could cancel. I was suspicious even though the information was coming from a Celebrity rep. I don't know of any cruise line that lets you cancel after final payment just because you don't like your cabin. I didn't book.

Today I got an email offering a choice of perks so I shopped around and found a cruise from Miami for about $960. This time I knew it would be an entry level suite, but when I clicked on the link to book, the price jumped to $1450. I called to ask the correct price and was told that the best available was actually over $1500. So why the lowball price when no cabin is available? I was told the website had not updated. Sorry. In this day and age, that is a lame excuse.

I can't help feeling mislead in both examples. So how do the rest of you book with confidence?

A suite guarantee is just that--a guarantee that you will receive a suite, albeit possibly the lowest level--a sky suite. But of course you cannot cancel if you don't like your assignment--land based X reps are known to give bad info.

As to the current situation, I was closely following prices on a cruise I hoped to book. The initial price shown on the website often was different when I actually clicked on it to do a mock booking. We all know the website has issues and I personally just accept it--and deal with it. I never book until I get a price I'm happy with.