zoom vs sensor size - alaska

ok what is more important for trip to alaska cruise not doing wilderness trek add on land trip. this is for a newbie that is thinking a bridge camera. but am open would like to stay under 400 if possible. i am a total novice. its seems when u get sensor size big you sacrifice zoom which seems needed for this type of trip whale watching etc. what is more important. i have the ability to get the p600 for about 199 or less but seems like this might not be the direction to go sensor size wise.

The picture you take will always be better than the one you didn't.

There is a lot of talk about sensor size, ISO and pursuing the ultimate in image quality but when you get right down to it, the current crop of superzooms outperform a 10 year old non-pro DSLR in almost every way you can measure.

If you are a true newbie, a bridge camera is an excellent choice as they try hard and mostly succeed in being an all-in-one package.

After you get back, you can evaluate the experience and the photos to decide if you want to make photography a permanent hobby and invest further. You may find that the photos you come back with are just what you were looking for and avoid a lot of expense and time! :)

For reference, here's a link to our 2004 Alaska trip that was shot mostly with an 8MP bridge camera:

http://galleries.pptphoto.com/alaska2004

Believe me when I say that cameras have only gotten better over the last 10 years.

Dave

For me image quality is important.... I say go google for image samples of the camera you want to buy. Not just images in bright sunlight, but also in low light situations.

Wildlife pictures would benefit from high-zoom.

I have the Sony HX400V bridge camera. A superzoom camera,check out below address for a great review and a final verdict and scores,compared to other cameras in this range. Last trip to Alaska used the Panasonic FZ200 (GREAT CAMERA) but think I prefer the range of the Sony.

This is from Cameralabs