Educate me on VAT

klfrodo

From the US.

Going to the Med next.

Spending a couple of days in London.

Then flying to Venice, will spend a couple of days in Venice pre-cruise, then board the ship and sail around around Greece, a couple of days in Istanbul, then return to Venice and depart the ship to fly back to the US.

So my questions are about VAT.

I saw on some daily papers for the cruise that the ship will charge a 22% VAT on all purchases and that you MAY be able to get that back with proper paperwork.

Also read somewhere that hotels MAY reduce your final bill by removing VAT.

So, what has your experience been?

Did the hotel remove the VAT for you?

Is it difficult to receive the VAT back?

General information that you feel would be important to know would be appreciated.

(Side Note: Please don't share this potential revenue stream with our government officials. :) )

I'm no expert but a couple of little pointers:

You can only reclaim VAT on things you take out of the EU.

So you can reclaim it on souvenirs but not on drinks, snacks, meals etc that you buy on the ship or ashore.

By the same token, you can't reclaim VAT on hotel bills unless it's a business trip.

There's a minimum purchase, which can be the total of several items bought from the same place at the same time & on the same receipt. You'll need your passport at the time of purchase

Checking the web on a particular point I've just come across

https://www.ricksteves.com/travel-tips/money/vat-refunds

which knows a lot more than I do.

I think you have to buy from an outlet which operates a VAT reclaim system, so you're unlikely to get it via a non-touristy shop.

You're also unlikely to get a refund on second-hand goods, such as antiques

This is a useful consolidation website

http://www.globalblue.com/