Cruising over the New Year period

Lees75

I am a brand newbie to the concept of cruising, but all my friends and clients have been going and now I want to. My kids are 12 and 9, so a good age.

I know cruising over New Years is going to be more expensive, but I think it will save me money overall. I am self-employed, but in my industry, have to always shut for the 10-14 days over Christmas/New Year period. So, I might as well cruise at a time I already won't be working, instead of losing income after on in the year.

I have seen a lot of posts reference that under $100 per person per day is a good price. I am looking at all the various cruises that go to the South Pacific straight after Christmas. What type of price should I keep an eye out for? It will be for a triple, if that makes any difference.

IMHO $100/person/day for an inside cabin (no window) isn't a good price, it's a bargain. Certainly, there are bargains to be had and because of our flexibility, DW & I tend to cruise at these bargain prices. :D

I would think you'd be looking at double this price (ie $200pppd) for a cruise at the peak Christmas/New Year period. :eek: The problem is supply and demand. Lots of people want to cruise then and there are only so many cabins available on so many ships. For this reason you aren't likely to pick up a last minute bargain either and I would expect prices to steadily rise until the ship is sold out. So I'd be booking ASAP.

Also, when comparing prices, just be aware that some cruise lines ask for gratuities for the staff. This is really an obligatory fee and not an optional payment for extraordinary service. It's a different way of pricing which seams quite foreign to us Aussies. I don't want to turn this into a tipping thread (there are plenty of those already on CC) but I mention it as you are new to cruising.

Hey Lees! Lynnyp here. We are going to NZ south island in the second half of January. Too late for you?

Hi! How small is forum land?!