Private tours St. Petersburg

Ok going to be cruising the Baltic in 2017 and going to St Petersburg.

I will admit I have never done a private tour before, always a ships tour or just explored on my own.

BUT it does look like a private touring company in St Petersburg offers the better option.

My concern is how (can) the tour companies deal with the selfish "Johnny come latelys" you know the ones you have on every tour that don't think the rules apply to them and wander back to the bus when THEY want NOT when you are meant to be back.

Yes we were the pier runners on one of the tours on my last cruise ( on a ships tour) because of some selfish idiots 😡

Has this happened to anyone?

I have to say my anxiety levels would be sky high and I would be very "annoyed" Tardiness is one of my pet peeves 🙄

Any comments or personal experience of this would be most appreciated.

Basically on the private tours you are only going to have 10/12 people on each,unlike ships tours on a big bus. Also given the nature of the visa covering these tours, all passengers must stay with the group, and cannot go wandering off on their own.

Basically on the private tours you are only going to have 10/12 people on each,unlike ships tours on a big bus. Also given the nature of the visa covering these tours, all passengers must stay with the group, and cannot go wandering off on their own.

Agreed. :)

A maximum of 16 in a group doesn't just mean fewer folk likely to hold you up - folk are more involved with each-other rather than just a mass of 50 strangers, so won't want the embarrassment of holding others up

And in SPB although you're not tied to the guide with apron-strings, folk can't just wander off & disappear.

A good place for a small-group tour

JB :)

Edited by John Bull