Tour guide recommendations

lastchamp64

Hi all, first time cruise newbie here. I've been a big time planner for our many Disney World trips but I must admit I am feeling a bit overwhelmed with planning the excursions for our trip on the Norwegian Escape in May 2017.

I would appreciate any opinions and experiences with the following excursion companies out there or even recommendations for ones any of you have used. Our ports will be Costa Maya, Cozumel, Roatan Bay and Harvest Caye;

We will be touring in all but Harvest Caye. Costa Maya we plan on seeing the Mayan Ruins. In Cozumel we are planning a private tour for three. And in Roatan Bay we are undecided.

Tourist guides:

Ship sponsored tours (safest but most expensive)

Shore Excursion Group

Island Marketing Ltd

Shore Excursioneer

The Native Choice (I have read great things on this forum and online of them)

Looking forward to hearing some sound advice here.

Edited by lastchamp64

What are you hoping to see/do while visiting Cozumel? :confused:

Black Hat (mentioned above) is often suggested on this board. I'd start there is you want to tour the island.

If you wanted to take a snorkel tour, we used Eagle Ray a few years ago and were happy. Or you can enjoy good snorkeling from the shore at The Money Bar.

We are not the biggest sit on the beach for several hours a day kind of family. The day we are in Harvest Caye will be good for us as far a a beach day. What I think we are wanting to do in Cozumel is see the city, landmarks, perhaps stop and get a bite to eat and experience authentic Mexican food and maybe stop at the beach for an hour or so.

Thanks so far on the tips.

Not much city or landmarks on Coz. There are some small Mayan ruins - IMHO they are disappointing. Downtown shopping is very touristy.

That said, the far side of the island is beautiful, with some fun bars and beautiful beaches (usually too dangerous to swim).