Bermuda in April

ALS1214

Most of the cruise lines are now making trips mid April to Bermuda. Since I’m a teacher school vacation is a great time to cruise. How is the weather and if you cruised in April could you swim on ship and beaches? The Island is beautiful regardless but curious about how the early trips were.

Thanks

Sent from my iPad using Forums

You might have some rough seas in April and weather can be iffy. During school vacation week, there will be so many children on board it will be nearly impossible to get in the pool unless you do a different cruise line that doesn't attract families with so many children's activities. The weather in Bermuda, while generally nice in April, can have clouds and showers that sock you in for a while.

The islands of Bermuda is in the middle of the big Atlantic, seas are unpredictable any time of the year, unlike river cruises - a little bit of rough seas, 10' to 15' waves aren't uncommon and to be expected, plan accordingly - DW and I don't take notice until waves in excess of 20' to 30' are definitive. You are likely to sail out of NY or Boston, whether it's the mega or mid-sized ships, have plenty of speed and real-time navigational tools to plot the optimal course heading to - usually - sail around the worst part of any approaching weather systems.

Being a chain of small islands, any forecasted showers or passing rain storm will typically last 10 or 15 minutes, and, any downpour are then over - sun will often re-emerge. We packed compact rain poncho (sold by local merchants everywhere when ...) twice & never had to use it. Bermuda Weather Services (Google it) give forecast & maritime/ocean updates and you can look at detailed historial trends & 5 to 7 days info for packing before your sailing.