Crystal River Cruising and low water levels

USCAdventurer

i will be taking my first crystal cruise on a rhine river cruise in november from basel to amsterdam.  i'm also new to this board and i wanted to ask and find out if anyone has experienced problems on their river cruises due to low water levels.  i've been reading about this issue.  i'm really looking forward to the river cruise sine i've never done one before and i think it will be a fabulous adventure!  i'm so positive about it, that even before i've take my first river cruise, i just booked a second crystal river cruise for december, 2020  which will be a danube christmas market cruise.  my first cruise will be on the crystal bach and the second will be on the crystal ravel, both are identical boats or ships or whatever you call them?

I suggest you go to the river cruise boards which is where you will find this information.

I have been on 18 river cruises since my first in 2008 (8 on AMA, 2 on Uniworld, 2 on Scenic, 1 on Tauck, 3 on Avalon , 2 on Amadeus).  We had low water issues on 3 and high water on 4.  The others were without incident. 

Our river lines of choice are AMA and Uniworld, followed by Amadeus.  AMA handled the low water levels extremely well.  Their ships are designed with a shallower draft and they have far fewer issues than the other lines with low water due to this design feature. 

We also had high water on AMA and they were fabulous with handling that as well.   In Provence they reversed the itinerary and we saw everything as promised.  It was seamless and very impressive!

We experienced high water in Provence with Uniworld and they handled it by taking us to the scheduled ports in the day but returning us to Avignon for several overnights.  It was fine and we did not have any alterations to itinerary by day.