Wrapping my head around "Freestyle"

MrSnarkyPants

Hi, most of my cruise experience has been on RCCL, so I'm new to all things NCL. But we decided to pull the trigger and booked an Alaska cruise last night for summer 2022.

I'm searching the forums to get caught up but I have freestyle questions. I see there are multiple main dining rooms that are complimentary. Is there any difference between these venues other than the furniture? Do they all serve the same menu?

The current promotion has 2 specialty dining meals included. I'm just trying to decide if it's necessary to buy another dining package to add some more to that or not.

But at least we have something on the calendar to look forward to.

Edited by MrSnarkyPants
  • Like 2

6 minutes ago, MrSnarkyPants said:

Hi, most of my cruise experience has been on RCCL, so I'm new to all things NCL. But we decided to pull the trigger and booked an Alaska cruise last night for summer 2022.

I'm searching the forums to get caught up but I have freestyle questions. I see there are multiple main dining rooms that are complimentary. Is there any difference between these venues other than the furniture? Do they all serve the same menu? Same menu, but usually one requires you to dress up a little - no shorts or flip flops. Freestyle means no real formal nights, just a "Dress Up or Not" night and "Norwegian Night Out." On bigger ships, the formal dining room sometimes has performances, so that can be fun. Supper Club on bigger ships also may have a couple complimentary dinner shows with a standard menu. O'Sheehans/The Local (name depends on the ship) is 24 hours complimentary and offers casual pub fare without a rotating menu.