Who designs itinerary for HAL private van tour?

pschweig

When you book a HAL private van shore excursion which includes a guide and driver for a day, are you responsible for putting the itinerary together? Or, does the guide do it? If so, does anyone contact you in advance telling you the itinerary and entrance fees required? 

Thank you in advance for your answers. I’ve never done this before - just tagged along on private tours put together by CC members. 

The one and only time we did this, there was no contact in advance so we showed up at the van and the driver said, "Okay, where would you like to go?"  We were like, "Uh, we've never been here before.  Where SHOULD we go?"  And after that the driver took us on an absolutely incredible tour including the big sights and other lesser-known places we would never have gotten to on our own.

I suspect (hope?) this is the case for all such private tours.  They are ready to follow your instructions if you know what you want, or ready to give you a personalized experience on the spot if you don't.

• Like 1

We have done it a couple of times. They usually give you a document to fill out in advance, where you state your priorities or goals for touring. This is sent to the company providing the guide and driver, who develops an itinerary.

Are you "responsible" to do it? No, you could just say "take us to all the sites".

2 hours ago, pschweig said:

When you book a HAL private van shore excursion which includes a guide and driver for a day, are you responsible for putting the itinerary together? Or, does the guide do it? If so, does anyone contact you in advance telling you the itinerary and entrance fees required? 

Thank you in advance for your answers. I’ve never done this before - just tagged along on private tours put together by CC members.