Last minute Marella deals

Thinking about trying a cruise and thought Marella's "Adriatic Explorer" might be interesting. I see there's a sailing that's quite heavily discounted, presumably because it's less than a week to departure. I'm new to all this so I don't know how things normally work - are later sailings almost certain to be similarly discounted as they get closer? If they all tend to come down to similar last minute prices then a June sailing would be more convenient. I could make next week's sailing if it's going to save me a few hundred pounds per person though. Would appreciate the insight of regular price watchers...

If there are unsold cabins then there are likely to be price reductions near departure date.  However you need to watch that there are matching flights available from your preferred airport(s).  There will be fewer cabins to choose from but if you are out to save as much as possible, just let TUI allocate one for you.

• Like 1

30 minutes ago, Pensioncruiser said:

Not a price watcher but after nearly 60 cruises can certainly recommend the Adriatic you would not be disappointed 😎

Thanks, that's nice to hear. Do you mean the Adriatic generally, or Marella's Adriatic Explorer itinerary in particular?

Sixty cruises is impressive! Our only cruising experience was a Caribbean cruise (with Celebrity) but that was more than 20 years ago.

Trawling through some of the posts in here there seems to be a bit of an impression that Marella have deteriorated over time and aren't particularly good value any more so perhaps I should be looking around at offerings from other lines. One thing I recall from our sole previous experience is having found the tipping custom rather awkward, so Marella's all-inclusive approach appeals.

32 minutes ago, ElmaLee said:

you need to watch that there are matching flights available from your preferred airport(s).

Good point, but I'm resigned to travelling to one of the London airports anyway.