Live from the NCL Spirit B2B July 5-19, 2023 (more sarcasm and grumpiness!)

YVRteacher

LauraS
This post was recognized by LauraS!

"And another from YVRteacher! Thank you for generously sharing your time at sea with everyone at Cruise Critic!"

YVRteacher was awarded the badge '"Live from...."' and 5 points.

Hello! My dad and I will be cruising on the NCL Spirit on a back to back cruise from Vancouver to Seward to Vancouver.  Dad is 80, loves beer, cruising, complaining and wildlife.  My dad’s goals for 2023 are to drink more beer and to survive another year. 

After having a stroke in 2020, my dad moved into a senior’s residence.  He has dementia but is physically strong and healthy.  His biggest challenges are memory loss, mood swings and some executive functioning skills.  He would deny all of this!

I am not 80. I love travel adventures, hiking, creating, reading, writing and Lee’s doughnuts. I am an elementary school teacher librarian.  My goals for the year are to explore new places, make new friends, try new experiences and understand my financial investments.

For the first time, I filled out the NCL Access Desk forms for both of us.  I’m finding it increasingly challenging to get vegetarian food that includes protein and my dad needs some adaptations especially with embarkation and with anything involving a wait.  He also needs small portions for meals as large meals make him panic (he was born in a bomb shelter during WWII and was raised to never waste food.)