Newark Airport/Port to Broadway?

I am from CA where everything is far apart.

I have never been to NY or NJ.

I am trying to convince my husband to fly in a day before our cruise (We are currently on a red eye and land at 7am in Newark.)

As a music teacher I've always wanted to see Broadway, maybe even see a musical there.  

How far away is Newark airport/port to Broadway?

There is a hotel close to the Newark airport correct?  I've heard there is nothing close to the port.

It’s not far at all from EWR to Broadway. Stay in Secaucus. Get the NJT train into NY Penn Station from Seacacus Junction. It takes less than an hour. Then it’s a quick walk up 7th Ave to your theater. Easy peasy. 

10 hours ago, Minuet888 said:

How far away is Newark airport/port to Broadway?

A few things to unpack here. What port are you cruising from? From what you've written I'm going to assume Cape Liberty in New Jersey, but the area also has the Manhattan Cruise Terminal and the Brooklyn Cruise Terminal. MCT is essentially adjacent to Broadway/Times Square. Cape Liberty isn't far but will require either a train into Manhattan or an Uber ride.

There is a hotel close to the Newark airport correct?  I've heard there is nothing close to the port.

This is what makes me assume it's Cape Liberty. There are quite a few hotels near Newark Airport from all brands for all budgets. If you do come in a day before you might also want to consider looking at the Doubletree Newark Penn Station-- this is a hotel that's attached to the train station in downtown Newark and will give you very easy access to Penn Station in midtown Manhattan. The next morning it would be a short 20 minute Uber to the port. There are not a ton of hotels in Bayonne (which is the town that is adjacent to the port itself). 

As a music teacher I've always wanted to see Broadway, maybe even see a musical there.