First Time Cruiser needs help for 12/22 RCCL cruise

Hello everyone. I am new here and also a new cruiser. I hope this is the right place to post these questions. If not, please be kind as I am just learning about this site and also new to cruising.

Today, we booked the Royal Caribbean Liberty of the Seas cruise for 12/22/2007. It is my Dh, 22 year old DD and 18 year old son and I. I usually plan and research our trips very far in advance, but we really needed to get away and ended up booking this. This cruise leaves out of Miami. I am really freaking out trying to figure this all out on such short notice. I am hoping you veteran cruisers will have mercy on us and help us with advice.

My most urgent questions are:

1) I am getting the best airfares into FLL. We will arrive on Friday night 12/21. Where should we spend the night? What is the best way to get

to the hotel in Miami from FLL airport and then to the Miami cruise port the next morning?

2) After the cruise returns on 12/29 we are planning on driving to Fort Myers to visit my father that lives there. We will then fly home out of Tampa. Where is the best place to get a car rental near the cruise port? Will we need to go back to the airport?

I am so overwhelmed I don't even know what to ask. I think we can rent a car in FLL or MIA and return it to TPA.

Any help or advice will be very much appreciated. Thank you.