Lost Luggage Question - will we ever see it again

Okay this is my first time posting ever - really enjoy all the useful tips - need some hopeful words/advice. My DD and her new husband(would that be DSIL?) just got off Enchantment of the Seas - Honeymoon trip. One of their pieces of luggage was missing - they dutifully filled out a report. What I am asking is has this ever happened to anyone and is it likely they will ever see that piece of luggage again?? They have insurance for any that think that is a solution but really that does not matter because what is in that bag is a red dress my DD wore on this honeymoon trip - which is the same red dress I wore on my honeymoon 29 years ago. I love that dress!! I want it back!! (Lesson to all never let special things out of your sight!!) And just for the record I am not upset at my DD rather heartbroken for her, if we never see it again she will carry the guilt for ever. Can't see how something can disappear going from a ship to a dock. Thanks to all in advance should I never figure out how to do this again - you are a special bunch!!

our friends luggage(just the ladies piece) did not make it from home to barcelona for 12 day cruise..It never did catch up..It finally made it back home 6 monthes later(after insurance paid off).It had been in the pre cruise hotel (booked by celebrity)storage room since prior to the cruise..Yes we chked with concierge at hotel and the cruise line rep repeatedly for the 3 day we spent their prior to leaving on the cruise and returned for 1 day post to the same hotel--again with many inquiries

I have never had this happen to me, but I think your chances are fairly good. As you said going from ship to dock is minuscule as compared to airline baggage handling. I can think of three scenerios that may have happened...