chirstmas/new years cruises

i have a couple questions for you guys i hope you do not mind

i am new to crusing i am taking my first on in november, however my entire family is looking inot a family cruise in december of 2005, how do they typically work, when do they leave before or after christmas, are we asking for big trouble going this time of the year price amd passenger wise?

please give me your thoughts i appreciate it very much

and when do they open up booking for that time of the year?

thanks a million

Lesa

We cruise between Thanksgiving and Christmas every couple of years. We prefer the first week of December . Great rates, less children, and generally great weather! icon_cool.gif And the ships are usually all decked out for the holidays! icon_biggrin.gif

Sophie

Well, it seems as if the cruise lines have special "holiday" cruises this year (at least RCCL does) that are longer than the normal 7 day cruise so that they encompass both Christmas and New Years. They are definitely more expensive. I think this is probably the most expensive time to travel other than spring break.

Cindy & Jonathan

Explorer of the Seas 9/21/02

Mariner of the Seas 11/23/03

Enchantment of the Seas 11/22/04

countdown.cgi?trgb=000000&srgb=00ff00&prgb=800080&cdt=2004;11;22;12;0;00&timezone=GMT-0500

If the cruise falls over christmas, OR over new years, OR over BOTH, then there is a big differance on the price, vs. "just another week"

The price is almost double.

Our christmas cruises we have left as early as the 20th. One we left Christmas morning and that was very exciting. I have done 4 of them now. For a family, its fun, but very differant. Now my kids want to cruise at christmas, but in the past they have been a little torn. Santa isnt on the cruise. icon_biggrin.gif