Cruise Critic: Celebrity V RCI

rool

I'm a relative newbie to this cruising lark, my first cruise being on The Brilliance with RCI at the end of March this year.

I booked this cruise in July 2008 and after discovering Cruise Critic spent the next 8 months desperately searching for information and just about visiting the RCI forum every day.

I have now booked a July 2010 cruise with Celebrity and I'm doing the same on this forum now.

In my opinion there are major differences between the two forums and wondered if this is a general reflection on the average cruiser on each line.

For example, I found the RCI forum to be quite fast moving with a lot of posts and new threads daily. There seemed to be quite a lot of fun threads but on the flip side a lot of abusive ones as it appears there is an extremely low tolerance of anything negative said against RCI. There does appear to be a few posters just looking to be contrary for the sake of it in my experience there.

Here seems to be quite a bit slower, more relaxed. It can be fairly amusing and sometimes a little cranky but not to the extremes experienced on the RCI forum. Negative threads tend to be debated rather than turning into a bun fight.

Both forums are excellent for valuable information to the newbie like me.

Probably the biggest difference in the number of posts is simple, there are more ships and people sailing on RCI as opposed to Celebrity. If you go to the Carnival board you will see the same thing, post a thread and in a few hours its on the second page. Not the case with Celebrity. On the other hand there are very few posts and changes of posts on the Disney board as there are other alternatives to Cruise Critic.

Probably the biggest difference in the number of posts is simple, there are more ships and people sailing on RCI as opposed to Celebrity.

OT, so nice to see you posting Don. :)