Priceline bidding

Smokeyone

Hello

I am a newbie to priceline although I have managed to book my Washington hotel successfully.

Have been trying for a few weeks now to get a 4 star in San Juan

for two different dates next March. Have bid upto $125 - is this a

reasonable amount or do I need to go higher or should I just wait

and see even if it means not booking the hotels until next year.

Thanks

Hello

I am a newbie to priceline although I have managed to book my Washington hotel successfully.

Have been trying for a few weeks now to get a 4 star in San Juan

for two different dates next March. Have bid upto $125 - is this a

reasonable amount or do I need to go higher or should I just wait

and see even if it means not booking the hotels until next year.

Thanks

There is a link at the top of the San Juan board about recent Priceline wins.

http://boards.cruisecritic.com/showthread.php?t=412956&page=89

I got the Marriott Stellaris for 3/17 for $115 and the Wyndham Rio Mar on 3/16 for $116 (all plus tax)

If you want to stay in Old San Juan you might try bidding 3.5 for the Sheraton. I believe that recently went for $80 on Priceline.

Read the posts on the link for the San Juan wins. Also, spend time on a site called betterbidding.com. There are links for both tips and recent winning bids. Good luck. Just be certain of how you proceed as all winning bids are final......Marty

The OP should be aware that whatever anyone posts as the price they got is for a particular date only. If someone gets a certain hotel for November, for example, that is pretty much irrelevant if someone else is trying to book for February. The price fluctuates wildly, even one day can make a difference...especially if you're only booking one weekend night.

Thank you all for the advice - thinking of starting again but at the 3.5 star..

Also received a Priceline message about bidding an extra $30 but other

forums have mentioned about not taking the bait.