Eastbound transatlantic cruises in fall ?

Redcasey55

I am new to cruising, first one was last year. Had a great time. I have a westbound transatlantic booked for Dec. next year and was wondering if there are eastbound transatlantic sailings in the fall. Thought it would be nice to go to Europe eastbound and return westbound. Better than flying there, I would think. I have searched some of the cruiseline's websites but have not found an eastbound transatlantic in the fall. If anyone could enlighten me on this subject, it would be appreciated.

The general pattern is that lines move their ships from the Caribbean to Europe during hurricane season, heading eastbound in the spring, then return to the Caribbean season in the fall. As far as I know, the only line that does regular crossings in both directions during the fall is Cunard.

Sadly, most TAs are positioning cruises from the Med in Autumn/Winter and vice versa in the Spring. Your only hope I think is to take Cunard for the return sector but they tend not to be workable on schedules since they no longer sail the Atlantic in the depths of the winter.

My wife and I met a couple of ladies on Amtrak from NYC to Miami who each spring crossed on positioning cruises to Europe to see their respective families. One would return by Cunard after a couple of months, the other, much later, would reposition back to the States on a cruise ship!

I wish they did, but unfortunately cruiselines such as Celebrity use the TAs as repositioning and thus the Fall ones are always westbound to relocate their ships from Europe in winter. The QM2 still does crossings, but I have never been able to time one right and she ploughs straight across in a few days.

Phil