Inside or Outside Cabin?

micruiser12

Our last 6 cruises (out of 7) we have had a balcony cabin, but usually sailed to warm ports. I am just beginning my research for Alaska, but I get the impression that maybe an inside cabin might work just as well since scenery should be seen from above on the ship and daylight lasts longer. For those that have experience cruising either inside or outside cabins was an outside cabin worth it? Have you gone from usually having balcony cabins to inside for Alaska and were you comfortable with that?

Thanks for any help you can give me as I research this trip!

Alaska is the only cruise where we do book a balcony. We also bring a large vacuum flask which we keep filled if we want to warm up.

Some will say that the open deck is better, we have tried this just once, and have since opted for a portside cabin, [better for glacier viewing, turn up sound on TV to hear the ranger speak].

john

for myself, I chose the inside cabin, because

1) it be nice and dark to sleep in, vs. a outside room where the long day might disturb sleep

2) honestly I had no problem watching the scenery from one of many big windows or the open deck on the ship, lounging or sitting somewhere. On glacier days, the ranger talks comes through the deck speakers just fine for myself to hear.

3) the money saved from the inside cabin can best be used on excursions, which are more expensive compared to most other cruise destinations.

On our last visit to Alaska in July 2010, we were in a balcony (upgrade fairy visited us on embarkation day and upgraded us from an OV) and it was fantastic to be able to view everything from our balcony instead of going up top.