Have you ever WANTED to cruise alone?

Silent Penguin

Do you ever want to go on a cruise without a companion, family member or friend? It will sound selfish or ungrateful to some, but I really, really want to go on cruise by myself right now! I love, appreciate and enjoy my familly, so when I tell you I fantasize about cruising alone, it's not coming from any feelings of discontent with my situation in life. My periodic inclination to travel alone is not sudden. Growing up in a major city, from a young age, I was at liberty to hop on a public transit bus or train to visit cousins on the other side of town or go downtown to visit an art museum, window shop, or study at the central library. If my friends were available, they came with me, but I was just as happy to go alone. During my college years, I was an exchange student in England and sometimes took long weekend excursions on my own. (I know that's not safe, and I wouldn't let my kids do it if I had any say). Before I got married, I took one last solitary journey across the Atlantic to spend a couple weeks visiting my English friends and rambling around.

I've been happily married for more than 20 years and have enjoyed many excellent vacations-the best of which were cruises- with my husband and children, but nothing's changed in regard to my penchant for wanting to retreat alone. Once in blue moon, I get that chance. Recently though, my growing desire is not just to vacation solo but to cruise solo. Given that my husband would not prevent me from it -he "gets" me, I'm not sure what would keep me from it. Probably, just guilt because I know he likes cruises too. Still, if the price was right...

Does anyone else dream of "recharging their batteries" by cruising alone?

Absolutely I would go on a cruise by myself. I don't know that I will any time soon, but I might at some point.

Of course, I would use my reasonable self-preserving skills to keep my wits about me, so I imagine not a lot of drinking would be had.