New to HAL. Family trip for 18 people, aged 17-76. Many questions. Please help.

ChiBearsSuperFan

Hello eveyone. I am new to Holland America but not new to cruising in general. We have a family tripped planned on the Volendam in August of 2015 to Alaska from Vancouver. There are 18 of us going, aged from 17-76. Eight (8) members of the group are under 25. I have designated myself as the group liaison for questions about the trip. If anyone can help me with some guidance, it will be greatly appreciated.

Dress code - Formal. I've read on the HAL website about the dress codes for Formal and Casual nights in the dining room. How strictly are the dress codes enforced? Are a suit and tie required or can a male get away with a pair of Dockers or slacks and a nice polo or button up shirt for Formal night? It also says cocktail dress or gown for the ladies? Again, can a female get away with just a nice dress or nice pants outfit?

Dress code - Casual. Are denim pants in good repair and condition considered acceptable in the dining room on Casual dining nights or is everyone required to wear slacks, Dockers or a skirt of some kind? Would a polo shirt or button front shirt be considered acceptable for these evenings?

Activities - Is there much going on, or to do, on the ship to entertain the chunk of our group that are younger? I see there is a kids program but nobody in our group would qualify for those activities. Might there be a dance club or gather places more suited to a younger crowd? I've looked around on the HAL site but information is a little spotty.

Drinking and gambling age - I presume the answer to both of these is 21 but if that could be clarified I would appreciate it. I forgot to look at the HAL policy and I think I saw some conflicting information for the state of Alaska and their drinking age.