Diabetes Medicine

Dave4120

Hello...not sure where to post this question.

Having recently been using diabetes supplies, I have no knowledge of what I need to do to ensure a smooth airport experience.

Do I just pack my needles, insulin and other supplies in a carry-on then show the screeners at the airport?

Do I need a letter from my Doctor that says I need these at all times during my trip.

I'm sure there are other things or procedures I'm not thinking of.

Any help you can provide would be welcome.

Dave

I don't have diabetes but have read here and on the ships many times to ask for a 'sharps container' from your steward so you can safely dispose of your needles after using them.

My steward saw the supplies on the bathroom counter and when we came back from dinner there was a disposable container.

Most Cruise lines now need a doctors note to say you are carrying needles for medical reasons, some airlines now also need it to be less than a year old. It is easy to get from the doctor but you will have to pay for it. Cruise line last year told me I needed a more up to date copy.

If one is flying, one must put his insulin in the clear one quart plastic bag for the benefit of the TSA twinkies. Put syringes and all other non-liquid medications in your carry-on bag.

DW once packed her meds in her checked bag when going to Hawaii. Due to miss connections, her bag went to LA and we went to Honolulu. It took five days to get her meds back in hand.

Doc