Live Surprise: Radiance of the Seas to Tasmania (Feb 2016)

Please bear with me as this is my first attempt at writing a live review!

Background

I have booked this cruise as a surprise for DW's birthday which is on Saturday, so we board two days before her actual birthday. No, it's not a "significant" birthday but I wanted to do something special for her (she has to put up with a lot being married to me) and she's often spoken about wanting to cruise to Tasmania.

Who Are We?

I'm Mark and DW is Cathryn. We are Salvation Army Officers in our early 40s and like so many other people from all walks of life we enjoy cruising. We trained for officership separately and both served as single officers for a number of years before meeting.

We married in November 2009 when we were in our mid 30s and discovered cruising the following year and to date have been on 9 cruises so this is cruise number 10. This will also be our first cruise as Diamond members of the Crown & Anchor Society, Royal Caribbean's loyalty program.

We are teetotallers and non-gamblers. Not real party animals!

Keeping the Secret

The hardest part of planning this cruise has been keeping it secret from Cathryn. I always get excited before a cruise and like to count down how many "sleeps" to go like a little kid before Christmas.

One thing that has helped is that Cathryn and I currently have seperate appointments within The Salvation Army; I'm the chaplain at an aged care centre whilst she has "command" of a small "corps" (local congregation).

I have had to apply for leave for her and make sure she doesn't know, get permission for us to attend a mandatory conference on a different date (long story), arrange for all her duties to be covered, pack her bag... all without her knowledge.

But I THINK I've managed it! At least she hasn't let on that she knows what's going on.

Pre-cruise Travel and Accommodation

Yesterday