Safety and the Solo Cruiser (Female)

SteadyBetty

I was part of a conversation recently with a few ladies.  We have all cruised solo and with family/friends.  One lady asked what precautions do we take when we cruise solo.  She, herself, said she brings men clothing/shoes for the cabin to appear she is not traveling alone.  She has decorated her cabin door with his/hers names and even a pic of a couple.  When getting a bar drink, she makes small talk to the bartender that her husband will be along shortly to order his drink.

I found this interesting, but a bit odd.  What say you?  Have any of CC solo cruisers felt unsafe or wanted to give the impression they are not alone?

Thanks!

• Like 1

Wow, that's different (especially since a cabin attendant would be able to figure out/know she was traveling solo) but if it makes her comfortable. 

I have been traveling solo for over 10 years via land and sea. One of the only precautions I always take, but I do it at a bar at home too, is to not leave my drink unattended if I am going to the restroom. I'll either finish it or just order a new one when I get back. Sure I've done the "I'm meeting a friend or boyfriend is coming along" if the taxi driver or guy at a bar/restaurant is giving me off vibes but otherwise I don't really do anything different. I always live by the mantra "Just because I am on vacation does not mean others around me, including crooks, are on vacation." Basically enjoy the moment and what you are doing but also be smart.

• Like 6