Help with Verizon cell on cruise

PinkMEB

I got confusing info from Verizon about using my phone during the April 1  cruise on Splendor. I want to be able to send and receive texts and calls if necessary. Seems there is an option of $10 a day if the phone is used or a pay as you go. She said to turn off cellular data and turn roaming on while on the ship. What do you Verizon experts do? Thanks for your suggestions. 

Do not turn roaming on. The $10 a day is for when you are in ports. Use wifi calling while you are on the ship with the internet with Regent. I was just on Voyager in Australia, New Zealand and Bali and was able to text with the Regent internet.

• Like 1

Full disclosure:  I am NOT a Verizon expert.  But I do know that the $10 per day plan is great on land, but does not apply to calls made from ship while at sea, which is $2.99 per minute.  Texts, however, are 50 cents to send and 5 cents to receive.

I agree with PSU, I am usually able to use wi-fi calling, but that depends on quality of internet connection which can be sketchy.

Are you in concierge level or are you SS Society Silver or above?  If so, you get some free phone time from your suite.

Bob

1 hour ago, PinkMEB said:

She said to turn off cellular data and turn roaming on while on the ship. 

I suspect she meant: "turn off cellular data (i.e. voice and data) and turn WiFi on while on the ship."  

Edited by 1985rz1

We have Verizon. As others said, use WiFi Calling.  If you haven't already. activated, do so. It's a free service and is very helpful even at home. We have a weak ceil signal so our phones, in our home, are always on WiFi Calling.  This feature "takes over" whenever your phone is on the Internet and the internet signal is stronger than the cell signal.