Uber/Lyft

lovetocruise79

Just curious for anyone who has stayed in a Galveston hotel the night before the cruise... Was it hard to get either uber or lyft the day of departure? Also, did you notice any surge? I'm planning on using Galveston express when we return as we will go directly back to the airport. 

Thanks for your input!

• 3 months later...

Hello fellow cruisers! Now that cruising has been happening out of Galveston has anyone used Uber or Lyft from airport to a Galveston hotel? I know there are issues getting Uber/Lyft as there are not a lot of drivers as there were pre-Covid. I am wondering if I should schedule a shuttle to pick us up from the airport and take us to our hotel. We are a party of two arriving Sunday around 1 pm staying at Gaido's one night pre-cruise. This is my first time sailing out of Galveston. 

And if you recommend taking a shuttle can you recommend one, please and thank you!

Thank you!!!

Uber and Lyft haven't been a problem in general use, but I don't know of anyone that has taken one from Houston to Galveston. I live in Houston and went to Galveston this weekend, and I will say traffic has been really bad heading south on the weekends. Vista was loading up when we left Galveston after lunch and it didn't look crowded around the port. Then we got to the highway to head north off the island and noticed a wreck had traffic backed up a few miles all the way to the mainland. Then further north road construction had traffic backed up a few more miles again. That 50 minute drive from Hobby to Galveston was probably closer to 2hr 15min. And IAH to the port was probably 2hr 45min.  My guess is you'd might want to plan a shuttle. Because even though there are Uber drivers, they may not want to take that drive. Again, this should only apply to weekends this summer.

P.S. We ate lunch at Nick's right there at Gaido's.

• Like 1

On 7/21/2021 at 6:35 AM, SCBarker said: