New to Seabourn

Brentwood Bay

My wife and I have been cruising with Oceania for many years but have been put off by Oceania's new Simply More program and PR fumbles relating to recent  Middle East voyages.  We are itinerary-driven and enjoy fine food and wine.  To help us decide on a 38 day cruise from Chile to Australia (March/April 2025) I would appreciate some input from Seabourn patrons relating to the cruise line. 

1. We are looking at Cabins V1 501 and V2 801.  We are not bothered by rocking/rolling ship motion and don't use elevators.  Any comments about either of these cabins?

2. I actually enjoy doing laundry/ironing when aboard (at home...not so much).  Are the self-serve laundries normally accessible ie. not overly crowded or requiring lineups?

3. I read that The Restaurant (which I assume is the "premium" dining venue on board) must be reserved with one (1) reservation permitted per voyage.  For a 38 day cruise this seems pretty limited.  Is this correct?

4. My wife and I enjoy interesting and knowledgeable speakers.  Are the calibre and frequency of the speakers reasonable?

5. We would normally bring a few bottles of wine with us (probably from visited Chilean wineries) but would not likely upgrade to Premium Spirits on board.  Are the complimentary wines and beers on offer of reasonable quality?

6. We are not heavy users of the internet while traveling.  Is the available bandwidth satisfactory for dealing with limited emails (no streaming required)?

7. The Formal Attire requirement is understood to be about once per week (5 occasions over 38 days?).  Is it possible to get away with a collared shirt and linen jacket without a tie?  Post-retirement my neck has become very adverse to wearing one.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

• Like 1

Is this on the Pursuit?  That's important as some of the answers to your questions will be different for expedition ships Pursuit and Venture than for the other ships.

Edited by stan01