Newark Airport/Port to Broadway?

I am from CA where everything is far apart.

I have never been to NY or NJ.

I am trying to convince my husband to fly in a day before our cruise (We are currently on a red eye and land at 7am in Newark.)

As a music teacher I've always wanted to see Broadway, maybe even see a musical there.  

How far away is Newark airport/port to Broadway?

There is a hotel close to the Newark airport correct?  I've heard there is nothing close to the port.

• Like 1

Here things are measured more in minutes than miles. I live 10 miles from the Lincoln tunnel, it can take 30 minutes to over an hour to get in. You could stay at the doubletree in Newark, take the train from the airport, and then the path from right by the hotel to manhattan. Jersey city/weehawken hotels are right across the river from manhattan, you can take a path train from there, or a ferry. Cabs do not like going back and forth and if you can find one it will be pricy (they’re not allowed to bring folks from NY back to NJ and vice versa). 

Hey! I saw your post over at the other blog and replied there, but I'm relatively new to that board, so you'll have to wait for a moderator to approve my response. 

Copied and posted here too, in case they're slow:

It's really easy to get into the city from Newark.  Penn Station is on 34th st. in Manhattan and a 45 minute train ride from the Newark Airport. You could also grab the PATH train and head in. You'd go through the World Trade Center station on your way to midtown. 

If you want to see a show, I recommend downloading the TodayTix app first. You'll find some of your best discounts there. 

@Minuet888 If you want to see a particular Broadway show, I would purchase tickets ahead of time. 
Sometimes you can get tickets the day of the show at the theater box office , but that is taking a chance as the show may be sold out or have limited seating.