Need Help ASAP! Booking Cruise: TA recommends Anchorage Depart. Instead of Fairbanks

NCFleur

Hello Alaska Cruise Folks:

Really need your help. We are first time cruisers so we're total newbies and have no experience to rely one! Thank God I found this board!

We're planning a May 09 cruise on Princess northbound with a 3 day land tour to follow. We're going to get married on board which is why we decided to do the cruise first then land.

I picked up last year's tour books from Princess to look at about 3 months ago since Princess hadn't released 09 itineraries that early. We liked the 7 day cruise departing from Vancouver. I met with a TA about 3 weeks ago (just when Princess released the 09 itineraries.) We looked at a 3 day land tour that included Mt. McKinley and departed from Fairbanks.

Now my TA is suggesting we take a different 3 day land tour that departs out of Anchorage because we would avoid taking a red-eye flight out of Fairbanks. The trouble is, it appears that if we take that tour, we'll miss Mt. McKinley.

We're only going to Alaska once so I want to make sure we have no regrets. I think we should see Mt. McKinley and deal with the red-eye flight. Is that a good decision? Is Fairbanks that hard to fly out of that you have to go at night? Or is this just because we're trying to fly all the way back to North Carolina?

The other difference is the ship with the Fairbanks departure is Coral and the ship with the Anchorage Departure is Island. I know they are "sister" ships so I don't think one is that much better than the other. Am I wrong?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I've already learned so much from reading this board so thanks in advance for your help! :)

Well I have a 6 AM Fairbanks flight and I don't consider that a red-eye so I don't quite know what your TA is talking about. There ARE definitely more red eye, night time leaving flights from Fairbanks, but so from Alaska in general.