Flight advice for a Newbie... please!

Hello all!!

I am new to this and to cruising. We have booked our first one on Voyager of the Seas departing Barcelona 12 July.

I know there are many threads on this site basically asking the same question and general responses are No, dont fly the same day as you sail... but I thought I would ask about my situation.

We are booked to fly UK to Barcelona on the morning of 12 July (via CDG, Paris)

Depart UK 06.15

Arrive Paris 09.15

Depart Paris 12.40

Arrive Barcelona 14.20

We need to be checked-in at the port for 17.30 as sailing is at 19.00

Is it worth changing our flights and booking hotel for night before? We have a very large group and are finding it would be expensive.

Also if we do miss the ship, can we fly onto the next port and join the ship there?

Thank you!

x

I am not sure how far the airport is from the pier......I also have heard that changing planes at CDG can be a PITA.....

however, you should be OK.....personally i would never fly in the day of a cruise (well most likely never.....)

you can fly to the next port...if you can get a seat on a flight at the last minute, but of course it will be at your own expense......

check out the cruise air board here as well....lots of road warriors who will have great info for you too.

We always consider flying in the day before as "insurance". We are there, our bags are there.

Granted it is expensive with a large group, but how expensive would it be to fly to the next port and miss part of the cruise? This is your first cruise. Is it worth the extra $$$ to be rested and ready to enjoy your first day?

You would have to ask RCCL about boarding at the next port.