Copenhagen - Train Question

I just started toying with the idea of staying in Copenhagen for our pre-cruise T/A next year on the CB. At the conclusion of our pre-stay, I was thinking of taking a train to Southampton via London. The thing that kinda scares me is I have no experience with train travel in Europe. I have several questions I was hoping someone could answer.

1. How long would the journey take? I'm assuming that I would have to change trains somewhere to the Euro Star to go through the chunnel.

2. Would I have to get off in London proper and then get a ground shuttle to Southampton or can I get closer to Southampton?

3. I'm a little concerned about luggage. If I do have to change trains, will the luggage be checked to it's final destination or will I have to check it again when I board the Euro Star?

Thanks in advance for any replies.....:):):)

Bob

I use a site http://www.bahn.de to check on rail journies.use the English versioni from the popup at the right top, put in the date you want to travel and estimated departure it will list various options, I put in a pseudo date it gave me travel times of roughly 26hrs, with 4 changes.some its the same stn in other cities such as London you have to change stations .In Europe generally your luggage is not checked in you just take it into the carriage with you.

Edited by threetowner14
spelling