Is there a big difference btw S-Class and M-Class ships? Will it be a downgrade?

2Nkotb

We've only been on the S-class ships and absolutely love our experiences there. I'm looking at a cruise on the Summit for 2015 (AQ) and am wondering if it's a bit of a "downgrade" sort to speak.

No offense intended. I'm a cruising novice and would appreciate any and all comments. Thank you in advance.

Edited by 2Nkotb

You will get many different responses to this question. In short, to answer your question, no it will not be a downgrade in the general meaning of the word downgrade, but you will notice some differences which you may like or you may not.

The M Class ships are smaller therefore the large atrium for instance on the S Class ships will not be there. The standard balcony cabins are a bit smaller as are the bathrooms. However, storage in the cabins on M is better than on S. On M Class ships the concierge rooms are slightly larger than your standard veranda rooms on M.

Some people love the T Pool on M class ships. Personally, I found the singers better on the M Class ships. While this is subjective, it is something that sticks out to me. The talent agency that fills production singers and other show talent on M Class ships is UK based. On the S Class ships the talent agency is US based and therefore a completely different company

All these differences can be minor or major. It has been my experience that the M Class ships feel smaller and slightly more worn, but only slightly. I probably only noticed it because I was looking closely for differences between the M and the S. the staff is equally wonderful on all the ships. The captain we had on the the Constellation was captain Tassos and he was absolutely amazing!