RCI cruise pricing based on country of residence?

retird

We are from Canada and currently on voyager cruising from sydney to perth Australia. The ship will will then reposition to Singapore (14 day cruise). Our friends onboard ,who are from Australia mentioned that they could continue on the reposition for $739 per person. I checked online and my cost showed as $2039 per person.

I checked with the next cruise desk and was advised that although both us and our ausie friends were booking the reposition cruise onboard i would have to pay the $2039 per person because I was a resident of Canada.

While i realize that prices are different based on the country where you are booking, i was not aware that the prices would be different while booking fron the same location (onboard)

It is also a substantial price difference. Obviously i did not book the cruise

WOW that makes no sense at all, the CAD/AUD is almost at par....so its not an exchange issue...

I can't understand why the price would be that different, would this not be a kind of discrimination? :mad:

I can confirm this as well.. I get the same prices when I book from royalcaribbean.no (Norway) and royalcaribbean.com. And I do not get to enter campaigns like BOGO/BOGHO or any OBC unless it is a campaign going on in Norway even if I book on the US website. Also, the rules for booking are different here. We can't cancel for free nor is it possible to ride on price drops.

But that works both ways

Luckily, I booked our cruise next february before the US$ became much more expensive for us so our GS now cost 4000nok (US$600) more than what it did back in October 14. RCCL Norway have promised that they will honor the original price in NOK

For the same reason I always check the price from different sources before I book a cruise- Royalcaribbean.dk (Norway office) as well as US site. I also check prices from selected travel agents both local and US.